Concerned about

Find out if you are truly at risk!

Find out instantly with our free deportation risk assessment

What is the Visa Waiver Program?

The Visa Waiver Program is administered by the Department of Homeland Security and enables eligible citizens or nationals of designated countries to travel to the United States for tourism or business for stays of 90 days or less without first obtaining a visa.

Which countries participate in the Visa Waiver Program

Citizens or nationals of the following countries are currently eligible to travel to the United States under the VWP:

Andorra Iceland Norway
Australia Ireland Portugal
Austria Italy San Marino
Belgium Japan Singapore
Brunei Republic of Korea Slovakia
Chile Latvia Slovenia
Czech Republic Liechtenstein Spain
Denmark Lithuania Sweden
Estonia Luxembourg Switzerland
Finland Malta Taiwan
France Monaco United Kingdom*
Germany The Netherlands
Greece New Zealand

What are the passport requirements to travel under the Visa Waiver Program?

Travel under the Visa Waiver Program is restricted to travelers possessing passports with specified security features. All VWP travelers must have a machine-readable passport. Depending on when and where the a travelers’ passports were issued, other passport requirements may apply.

What is the Electronic System for Travel Authorization?

The Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) is an automated system that assists in determining eligibility to travel to the United States under the Visa Waiver Program and whether such travel poses any law enforcement or security risk. Upon completion of an ESTA application, a traveler is then notified of his or her eligibility to travel to the United States under the VWP.